The municipality of Øygarden was established the 1st of January 2020, as the three former municipalities of Fjell, Sund and Øygarden merged together.

Øygarden is a modern island community just west of the city Bergen. Øygarden has a population of approximately 38 500 inhabitants and is the second largest municipality after Bergen, in Vestland county. The Sotra bridge connects Øygarden with the mainland. In Øygarden you will find large industrial areas, which is located at Skaganeset, Ågotnes, Kollsnes and Straume. Straume is also the center of the municipality.

The area is 315 square kilometres and is composed by many hundreds of big and small islands. These islands are bound together by several bridges.

You can read more about Øygarden at their homepage

Our Members